Press Releases

Unlocking the Postal Code

Previously, we used the Constant Spring post code JMAAW03 to highlight the first two components of the post code. These were JMA: JM for Jamaica , and A for the postal zone of Kingston, St. Andrew and St. Catherine.

The next component is the letters AW: This denotes the parish listing for St. Andrew. The parishes for zone 'A' are listed here:

  • Kingston : KN
  • St. Andrew: AW
  • St. Catherine: CE

Zone 'B' parishes:

  • St. Thomas : TS
  • Portland : PD
  • St. Mary: MY

Zone 'C' parishes:

  • Hanover : HR
  • St. James: JS
  • Trelawny: TY
  • St. Ann : AN

Zone 'D' parishes:

  • Clarendon: CN
  • Manchester : MR
  • St. Elizabeth: EH
  • Westmoreland: WD

By now you will have recognised that the structure is based on the first and last letters of each parish's name, without using the ' St. ' as part of the name. This approach standardises the name format across all parishes, thus there is only one way to encode each parish. This way, St. Thomas becomes JMBTS (Zone B), and Westmoreland becomes JMDWD (Zone D). This pattern is followed for each parish.

Next week, the last components (two numbers) will be discussed, and then an overview of all components will be presented, so please look out for this.


Member of Parliament for North East St. Elizabeth , Roger Clarke (right), cuts the ribbon to officially open the new Santa Cruz Post Office last Thursday. Looking on are Commerce, Science and Technology Minister, Phillip Paulwell (left), and Postmaster General, Dr. Blossom O'Meally-Nelson. The building was dedicated by Bishop the Rev. Dr. Ivan Evans of Waterloo Apostolic Church , Santa Cruz .


Commemmorative stamps and first day covers of the Rotary Club's centenary (1905-2005) are now available at the following post offices: Central Sorting Office, Liguanea, Ocho Rios, Montego Bay #1 and the Norman Manley International Airport . First day covers with these stamps are priced at $100 each.